Tsuchiya Anna (土屋 アンナ)

Posted on July 24, 2011

0


I was first introduced to this incredibly talented woman through Kamikaze Girls, known as Shimotsuma Monogatari (下妻物語) in Japan. I was enthralled by her beauty and acting skills.

As you can see from the trailer above, it’s a high interesting and hilarious movie!! I recommend you immediately go to Netflix and watch it now! It is on Netflix, right? I wouldn’t know. Netflix hates Japan. (I can’t stream videos from them because I’m in a foreign country.)

I purchased a ShoujoBeat subscription around that time, when the magazine existed. I was completely enthralled by NANA. I even went so far as to purchase both live action movies eventually! Then when the anime came out, Anna Tsuchiya sang the theme song as Nana Osaki. Two things I adored connected. Had to be fate, right? (All of us otaku put up with talk about fate and destiny.)

Anna Tsuchiya also had released her first album around that time. I love every single song from it. I fell in love with her rocky attitude and versatile style.

She’s also been in a visually stunning movie called Sakuran. I highly recommend this movie if you get a chance to see it! (Pssst, it’s about Japanese courtesans back in the day.)

When I found out I was going to Japan with my navy husband, I made a promise to myself to see Anna Tsuchiya live. Well, three and a half years with half a year left to go in this country, and it seemed like it just wasn’t going to happen.

Until yesterday.

I was going to see DJ Verbal at a summer concert on Zushi beach at the Otodama Sea Studio. As with many events I plan to attend here in Japan, I always make sure to double check the time and date of everything. That’s when I happened upon Anna Tsuchiya’s picture from her latest album, Rule. I was thinking, “No way… Anna Tsuchiya, there? For 4000 Yen???” But it’s true. Here, look for yourself. It’s true, right? My eyes aren’t playing tricks on me?

I know for some this may seem incredibly stupid, but I really do have an unhealthy obsession with this actress/model/singer. And I think you should, too!

I literally cried when I told my husband about Anna going to Zushi beach. That’s how freakin’ excited I am! Seriously, I have planned two outfits to wear and will put both on before leaving the house for the concert, nudging my husband to help me decide between the two. (What a fun night he will have!)

You can find Anna Tsuchiya’s music on iTunes. Unfortunately, her latest album isn’t in the US store, so you’ll just have to purchase that on YesAsia. I’m also going to attempt to get a signature on that one.

Seriously, how can you not love her?